Skip to main content

Avadian Triva Answers

Test your I.Q. with our trivia questions:a

From the inception of the SEC in 1933 to the end of the 20th century, which university won the most Southeastern Conference Championships?
 Alabama won 21 SEC titles. In second place, Tennessee with 13, Georgia with 11, and Florida had 6.

Q: In 1922, the Conference expanded from 10 teams to 12, by adding which two schools?
A: Arkansas and South Carolina 

Q: Which team was NOT a member of the original Southeastern Conference – Clemson, Auburn, Tulane or Georgia Tech?A: Clemson – The Conference was founded in 1933 with 13 teams: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Sewanee, Tennessee, Tulane and Vanderbilt. Sewanee withdrew in 1940, Georgia Tech in 1964, and Tulane in 1966.

Q: The 1997 SEC Championship was won by the Tennessee Volunteers, by a score of 30-29 by a long touchdown pass by QB Peyton Manning. Which team from the SEC West did Tennessee beat to win the title?A: Auburn

Q: Who did Alabama beat to win the first SEC Championship game in 1992?A: Florida

Q: Which university won three SEC Championships in a row between 1980 and 1982?A: Georgia – They rode their sensational RB Herschel Walker to the 1980 National Championship and three SEC titles.

QWho won three straight SEC Championships between 1987 and 1989?A: Auburn – Pat Dye’s Tigers won 3 straight to the end of the decade, though only 1 (1987) was outright.

Q: In the first decade of the SEC Championship game, between 1992 and 2002, the Western Division sent 5 teams to the SEC title game. Which team did not make it at least once – Arkansas, Ole Miss, LSU or Mississippi State? A: Ole Miss – Arkansas made its first appearance in 1995. Miss State made its in 1998, and LSU made it in 2001.

Q: How many teams from the West actually won the SEC title in its first decade, 1992-2002?A: 2 – The only two teams to do it were Alabama (1992, ’99) and LSU (2001).

Q: How many SEC teams won the National Championship in the 1990s?
A: 3 – Alabama won in 1992, Florida in 1996, and Tennessee in 1998.


Sources: See more at:

The credit union is federally insured by the NCUA. Additional insurance of up to $250,000 on your savings accounts is provided by Excess Share Insurance Corporation, a licensed insurance company.
Equal Housing Lender Equal Housing Opportunity Lender
· Copyright © 2018 Avadian CU All rights reserved.